Mediafire & ADrive accounts have been locked

08/04/2012: mediafire account has been closed
16/11/2015: adrive account has been closed
11/07/2016: new mega account
mega folder link

1 maggio 2011

The Hafler Trio - All that rises must converge #1993

All that rises is a reissue of two EPs that were originally released in late 1986 on Touch, The sea org (tracks one through three) and Brain song (tracks five through nine), with additional tracks that were previously unreleased. The group's interest in perception and the effects of sound is still very much in the foreground here. The original cover of Brain song still includes Edward Moolenbeek as a member of the group, and interviews from the period still refer to Spridgeon as inspiration. Almost all of this collection contains the Hafler Trio's particular take on layered drones, where occasionally recognizable sounds (especially voices) appear buried in the mix, and where a sound will suddenly appear or disappear, in one channel or in both. Sometimes the drones will show their origins to be some kind of field recordings as the sounds thin out. There are also many perceptual blurs, such as on Myriologue #3, where the sounds of seagulls morph into creaking hinges. The absence of a direct narrative makes this slightly easier listening than their earliest work, such as Bang!, but there are enough sudden changes to keep the listener on edge and the album from lapsing into easy ambience.

via AllMusic


01. An introduction to go
02. Of the building of forms by vibrations
03. The Howney stone
04. A Luna Kanula
05. Blanket level approach #3
06. Captation #7 - 'Transilient membranes'
07. Buggy whip flings
08. Captation #9 - 'Sareköbe'
09. Strata definition test #10
10. Myriologue #2 - 'Calenture'
11. Myriologue #3 - 'Quonking'

The Grey Area
Download here


Nessun commento: