Mediafire & ADrive accounts have been locked

08/04/2012: mediafire account has been closed
16/11/2015: adrive account has been closed
11/07/2016: new mega account
mega folder link

19 luglio 2011

Chromagain - Any colour we liked #2011

Any colour we liked is the highly anticipated and Anna’s first release in co-operation with the Mannequin label from Rome, Italy. Chromagain were Luca Pastore (bass, guitar, synthesiser, lyrics, backing vocals), Silvio Ferrero (synthesisers) and Davide Bassino (vocals, lyrics) from Torino, Italy, and was formed in 1982. Chromagain had two other singers (at first Riccardo Acuto, then Danilo ‘Dana’ Barbero) before Davide Bassino joined as the main vocalist and core member. They started as a post-punk outfit in 1982, then evolving to one of the top-notch italian electronic dark wave bands. The influence of JOY DIVISION/NEW ORDER is inevitable, the playful and melodic bass and lots of synthesisers form the backbone to their songs. In 1985 they released their only vinyl mini-lp Any colour you like (Supporti Fonografici, SF 004; this label was also home of the similar sounding WEIMAR GESANG) which was recorded at TKS studio together Mauro Tavella and Andrea Costa of MONUMENTS fame, so no wonder you may recognize some similarity (the Simmons drum machine on those recording sessions, DX-7 synthesiser, etc.). The mini-lp had five tracks ranging from the rather most italian dark wave sounding Satisfied to the up-beat track Spot, from the dark wave killer Killing Dome (oh that bass...this is for the goth clubs) to the hauntingly beautiful ballad After the clouds and finally to their most New Order-ish track Season of steel. Any colour you like has been a highly sought-after and expensive rarity ever since and a re-issue was more than overdue, so here is Any colour we liked, a retrospective compilation of Chromagain’s works: the digipak-cd version comes with a different artwork (by Steve Lippert) and an additional six bonus tracks covering all their recordings back to 1982 including a demo version of Killing Dome, an alternative early ‘whistle’ version of Spot and the tracks featuring the other two singers, Riccardo and Dana. All those additional tracks are nothing but amazing, too, with a more raw edge and wonderful Roland TR-808 drum machine action all through. Dana’s voics is very reminiscent to the one of Belgian singer Geert Coppens, so Sometimes and Killing Dome (demo) will more than just appeal to those into TWILIGHT RITUAL/AUTUMN, while the very earliest tracks Hertzdance and I cut my nerves with Riccardo on vocals are more showing their (post-)electro-punk roots. Surely a true classic and not be missed!

via Anna Logue records

Chromagain - Spot


01. Satisfied
02. Spot
03. Killing dome
04. After the clouds
05. Season of steel
06. Wake up
07. Ethnicbox
08. Season of steel (dub instrumental)
09. Spot (whistle)
10. Sometimes (demo)
11. Killing Dome (demo)
12. I walk in the city
13. Hertzdance ... I cut my nerves

Anna Logue records/Mannequin mailorder
Download here


1 commento:

desbela ha detto...

Era da un pezzo che non giravo per il tuo blog. Sei sempre immenso.